Follow by Email

Wednesday, 31 May 2017

Secrets of the Dead by Carol Wyer

Three murders. Three innocent victims. What secrets did they share with their killer?

A bottle of bubble bath and colourful, plastic boats were scattered in small puddles on the floor. In the bathtub lay Linda Upton, fully-clothed, her lips a shade of blue, and her bloodshot eyes wide open.

When a young mother is found drowned in the bath, clutching a receipt saying ‘all debts paid’, Detective Robyn Carter knows it’s just the beginning of a harrowing case. She recognises the signs of a serial killer, and when a second victim with a receipt is found, her worst fears are confirmed.

With the local press whipping the public into a frenzy, Robyn is under pressure to solve the crime yesterday. But her team can’t find a link between the two bodies, and the cracks are starting to show.

Just when her leads have dried up, Robyn discovers an unsettling clue she thinks could unlock the case. But as she chases across the plush carpets and manicured lawns of the wealthy elite, honing in on the killer’s shocking motive, one of her own is put in terrible danger.

The press call him The Leopard for his stealth, speed and brutality. Can Robyn stop the most twisted killer of her career before it’s too late?

A heart-pounding, toe-curling, one-sitting serial killer thriller that will hook you from the first page till the last. Perfect for fans of Angela Marsons, Rachel Abbott and Karin Slaughter.


Title: Secrets of the Dead
Author: Carol Wyer
Published by: Bookouture
Publication Date: 30th May 2017
Links: UK: Amazon    US: Amazon

My Review


Secrets of the Dead has the perfect ingredients for a chilling crime novel.
An exciting police procedural mixed with a private investigator and a despicable serial killer who will not stop until he gets what he wants.

DI Robyn Carter is back with her team to investigate a serial killer who shows no mercy to his victims. The only apparent link at first is an invoice left on each of the bodies which has 'Paid in full,' scrawled across it.

Carter feels there is a link to another case which is not being treated as a murder but is not allowed to pursue it as her senior officer doesn't believe there is a connection. She therefore enlists the help of her cousin Ross who is a private investigator. I have a weird fascination for Private Investigators and think that maybe I would have been one in a different life. It's great how Ross is able to investigate the crime without the restrictions of being in the police force and always having to follow protocol. This is a fantastic avenue for Carter to get the results she needs without being hindered by her bosses.

The investigation eventually becomes focused on a hotel and spa where more clues are unearthed.
I love DI Robyn Carter and really feel for her, she has lost the love of her life and in her quieter moments she reminisces about their time together. She really wishes he was there to guide her in life. This shows a much softer side to the hard hitting detective that she is and along with her relationship to her step daughter adds more dimensions to her character.
I really enjoyed the setting of Lichfield too as I was there recently and recognised lots of places mentioned.

This story was woven together brilliantly and from being instantly hooked at the beginning the tension kept me enthralled throughout.
I was craving a really good crime story and this fitted the bill perfectly. Reading the letter from Carol at the end made this story even more sinister.

Many thanks to Bookouture and Carol for the Arc which I have reviewed voluntarily.

Sincerely
Book Angels x


About the Author



As a child Carol Wyer was always moving, and relied on humour to fit in at new schools. A funny short story won her popularity, planting the seed of becoming a writer. Her career spans dry cleaning, running a language teaching company, and boxercise coaching. Now writing full-time, Carol has several books published by Safkhet and journalism in many magazines.

Carol won The People’s Book Prize Award for non-fiction (2015), and can sometimes be found performing her stand-up comedy routine Laugh While You Still Have Teeth.

http://www.carolewyer.co.uk

https://www.facebook.com/AuthorCarolEWyer

https://twitter.com/carolewyer

Follow the rest of the blog tour here...


No comments:

Post a Comment