Follow by Email

Wednesday, 10 May 2017

The Lies Within by Jane Isaac

Be under no illusions by her kind face and eloquent manner… This woman is guilty of murder.

Grace Daniels is distraught after her daughter's body is found in a Leicestershire country lane. With her family falling apart and the investigation going nowhere, Grace's only solace is the re-emergence of Faye, an old friend who seems to understand her loss.

DI Will Jackman delves into the case, until a family tragedy and a figure from his past threaten to derail him.

When the police discover another victim, the spotlight falls on Grace. Can Jackman find the killer, before she is convicted of a crime she didn't commit?

A gripping thriller perfect for fans of Gillian Flynn, S.J. Watson, B A Paris and Sophie Hannah

Title: The Lies Within
Author: Jane Isaac
Published By: Legend Press
Publication Date: 2nd May 2017
UK: Amazon        US: Amazon

My Review

As with 'Beneath the Ashes' this book is sharply written and to the point.
The storyline was devastating as the book begins with librarian Grace Daniels standing trial for murder.
We are then taken through the details leading up to this incident where we find out that Grace's daughter Jo has been murdered and sexually assaulted.
Grace is understandably distraught and withdraws from everybody she knows. She is then befriended by an old school friend who helps her through this devastating time. This situation causes a bit of a rift with her and her family.
DI Will Jackman is in charge of the case and I really enjoyed spending time with him again as he works on the investigation. He is good at his job but his private life is tragic as his wife is in a care home suffering from locked in syndrome. He loves his wife but is once again thrown together with Carmela with whom he had a close friendship the year before. Carmela is brought in as his boss but there is obviously chemistry between them which he is tempted by. However his guilty conscience prevents him from moving on with the relationship. Plus the fact that doctors are unsure whether his wife's condition could eventually improve.
I found that the story had me gripped with my stomach tensed the whole way through and whilst I guessed who was guilty I didn't feel as though that took away from my enjoyment of the book.
I will certainly be looking forward to the next book by Jane Isaac.

Book Angel x

About the Author

Jane Isaac lives with her husband, daughter and dog, Bollo, in rural Northamptonshire, UK. Her debut novel, An Unfamiliar Murder, introduces DCI Helen Lavery and was nominated as best mystery in the 'eFestival of Words Best of the Independent eBook awards 2013.'

The Truth Will Out, the second in the DCI Helen Lavery series, was nominated as 'Thriller of the Month - April 2014' by and winner of 'Noveltunity book club selection - May 2014'.

In 2015 Jane embarked on a new series, featuring DI Will Jackman and set in Stratford upon Avon, with Before It's Too Late. The second in the series, Beneath The Ashes, will be published by Legend Press on 1st November 2016 with the 3rd, The Lies Within, to follow on 2nd May 2017.

Both DI Jackman and DCI Lavery will return again in the near future. Sign up to Jane's newsletter on her website at for details of new releases, events and giveaways.

No comments:

Post a Comment