Follow by Email

Thursday, 3 November 2016

Blog Tour Exclusive - Searching for a Silver Lining - Miranda Dickinson



Matilda Bell is left heartbroken when she falls out with her beloved grandfather just before he dies. Haunted by regret, she makes a promise that will soon change everything . . .

When spirited former singing star Reenie Silver enters her life, Mattie seizes the opportunity to make amends. Together, Mattie and Reenie embark on an incredible journey that will find lost friends, uncover secrets from the glamorous 1950s and put right a sixty-year wrong.

Touchingly funny, warm and life-affirming, this is a sparkling story of second chances. Perfect for fans of Cecelia Ahern, Searching for a Silver Lining will take you on a trip you'll never forget.

Title:               Searching for a Silver Lining
Author:           Miranda Dickinson
Published By: Pan MacMillan
Date:               Oct 20th 2016
Link:               UK: Amazon  US: Amazon


We are delighted to host this exclusive Blog Tour Post from Miranda

Bell Be-Bop is the small but fabulous vintage shop Mattie owns in the pretty Shropshire village of Kings Sunbury. It represents not only her love of all things from the 1950s but also a deep connection with Grandpa Joe, her beloved grandfather who has recently died.

After Joe Bell’s death (and the rift between them that robbed her of their final precious months together), the shop becomes Mattie’s tribute to him, a reminder of the stories he shared with her before their argument. She remembers him talking about his ‘bachelor year in London’ in 1956 and when she’s given his diary from that year she begins to unravel the mystery of what happened to him there.

Mattie loves her shop and it’s a sanctuary for her in difficult times as much as it is her passion and profession. It’s where her memories of the past meet her hopes for the future and she has worked hard to make it a success. It’s also where she chooses to spend time when she wants to feel close to her grandfather; where her cousin Jack and assistant manager Laurie offer Mattie advice and where loyal customer Percy finds items that make his new house feel like home.

I had the most fun imaginable finding vintage items to stock Mattie’s shop with! I spent a long time poring over Pinterest boards, researching items from the time and wandering around vintage shops near me for inspiration. In my local retro cafĂ© I found an original 1950s Bakelite radio, which appears in a display Mattie puts together; and in a wonderful vintage clothes shop in Bridgnorth, Shropshire, I found dresses and coats that are described in the book. I hope that readers will be able to feel the thrill of Mattie’s shop, as I did creating it!

Thanks so much for reading this blog exclusive! For more, follow my Searching for a Silver Lining blog tour. I really hope you enjoy reading the story!

Sincerely
Book Angel x


About the Author


Miranda Dickinson has always had a head full of stories. Born in 1973 in Wolverhampton, she grew up in Kingswinford and dreamed of one day writing a book that would reach the heady heights of Kingswinford Library... Her first novel, Fairytale of New York (2009) was discovered on Authonomy.com - HarperCollins' site for unpublished authors. Within three weeks of its release, Fairytale of New York had entered the Sunday Times Top Ten Bestsellers List, where it remained for five weeks - making it the world's first crowd-sourced bestseller. The novel was also shortlisted for the RNA's Romantic Novel of the Year Award 2010 at the Pure Passion Awards.

No comments:

Post a Comment