Follow by Email

Thursday, 3 November 2016

Blog Tour - Beneath the Ashes by Jane Isaac

The floor felt hard beneath her face. Nancy opened her eyes. Blinked several times. A pain seared through her head. She could feel fluid. No. She was lying in fluid.
When a body is discovered in a burnt-out barn in the Warwickshire countryside, DI Will Jackman is called to investigate.
Nancy Faraday wakes up on the kitchen floor. The house has been broken into and her boyfriend is missing. As the case unravels, DI Jackman realises that nothing is quite as it appears and everyone, it seems, has a secret.
Can he discover the truth behind the body in the fire, and track down the killer before Nancy becomes the next victim?
A gripping thriller perfect for fans of Gillian Flynn, S.J. Watson, B A Paris and Sophie Hannah

Title:               Beneath the Ashes
Author:           Jane Isaac
Published By: Legend Press
Date:               Nov 1st 2016
Link:               UK: Amazon  US: Amazon

My Review

As soon as I started reading this book I immediately realised that the writing style was just how I imagine Steven King suggests it should be in his book,  'On Writing.' Every word has earned its place and it was really tight so I was very impressed.
The story was then intriguing and compelling in equal parts.
DI Jackman is called in to investigate a situation involving a fire at a barn where the body of a man has been found.

In a house nearby a woman called Nancy Faraday has been knocked unconscious and wakes up on the kitchen floor in a very confused state, there are also obvious signs of a break in. The one thing that Nancy does know is that her boyfriend Evan Baker is missing.

Nancy has an unfortunate past as her mother is an alcoholic and so I felt sympathetic to her plight, as the plot unravels and we find out more about her boyfriend, it's hard to know whether she was involved in his dodgy dealings. But whether she was involved or not he certainly doesn't seem to be the man she thought he was and we discover he has been hiding an unsavoury past.

I really liked DI Jackman and my heart went out to him as his personal situation is very sad and he tries his hardest not to get too close to people, especially Carmela who is a colleague who seems to like him quite a lot. It's lovely to see his relationship with his daughter as he loves her so much.

He is quite a lonely person who tries to throw himself into work so as to avoid any difficult distractions.

The story was gripping and went from strength to strength as the plot unravels and pieces of the jigsaw are put together.

A thoroughly enjoyable read and I will be sure to read more books by this author.

Thanks to Legend Press for the ARC which I have reviewed voluntarily.

Sincerely
Book Angel x

About the Author



Jane Isaac lives with her husband, daughter and dog, Bollo, in rural Northamptonshire, UK. Her debut novel, An Unfamiliar Murder, introduces DCI Helen Lavery and was nominated as best mystery in the 'eFestival of Words Best of the Independent eBook awards 2013.'

The Truth Will Out, the second in the DCI Helen Lavery series, was nominated as 'Thriller of the Month - April 2014' by E-thriller.com and winner of 'Noveltunity book club selection - May 2014'.

In 2015 Jane embarked on a new series, featuring DI Will Jackman and set in Stratford upon Avon, with Before It's Too Late. The second in the series, Beneath The Ashes, will be published by Legend Press on 1st November 2016 with the 3rd, The Lies Within, to follow on 2nd May 2017.

Both DI Jackman and DCI Lavery will return again in the near future. Sign up to Jane's newsletter on her website at www.janeisaac.co.uk for details of new releases, events and giveaways.

Follow the rest of the blog tour here...


No comments:

Post a Comment