Follow by Email

Thursday, 8 December 2016

Author Q & A - Sue Fortin - The Girl Who Lied

The USA Today Bestseller!

'Gripping…I was desperate to turn the pages' – Amanda Jennings
Sometimes the perfect friend tells the perfect lies…
Erin and Roisin were once friends until a fatal accident ruined both their lives. Now, Roisin has discovered a secret—one Erin has kept for over a decade—and she’s determined to make Erin pay for her lies.
When Roisin suddenly disappears, suspicion soon lands on Erin. She would do anything to protect her family, but just how far is she willing to go when time is running out…?
A must read for fans of CL Taylor and BA Paris.

Title:               The Girl Who Lied
Author:           Sue Fortin
Published By: Harper Impulse
Date:               May 19th 2016
Link:               UK: Amazon  US: Amazon



Welcome to Sincerely Book Angels blog.
Hello! Thank you so much for inviting me, it's lovely to be here.

What was the inspiration behind this novel?
The family unit and how it is made up, really fascinates me and I enjoy delving into what makes up the dynamics of a family. Erin’s story was partly this, it looked at the lengths mothers would go to for their child and the fact that just because your child is an adult, and possibly a parent themselves, it doesn’t stop you mothering them. As my own children grow up, I often think, the bigger the child, the bigger the worry or problem.

Did you always want to be a writer?
I've always wanted to write but at different points in my life, I've had other things I wanted to do more. It wasn't until I had the yearning and the time, that I actually sat down and got on with it.

What other jobs have you had?
Chalet Maid - summer job
Care Assistant - weekend job
Receptionist - Estate agents
Secretary to the Litigation Partner at a firm of solicitors
Manager's Secretary - High Street bank
Learning Support - local further education college

How did it feel when your first novel was published?
On publication day - nervous. I thought I'd feel excited and be dancing around the place, but I was really nervous and found the attention on the day quite overwhelming. People were so kind and supportive. It took a while for it all to sink in.

Can you please tell us a little about your publishing story.
I came through the Romantic Novelists' Association New Writers' Scheme. I was on the scheme for three years when I then self-published my first novel, a contemporary romance called United States of Love. A year later HarperCollins started a new imprint, HarperImpulse, and I submitted my book to them. I was very lucky to receive a three book deal with them and have since gone on to have another novel published by them, with a contract for a further two. In between books three and four, I signed with my agent. I'm still a member of the RNA and really can't thank the NWS enough for all the advice and support I've received.

Have you ever had writer's block? If so how did you overcome it?
I haven't but if I feel I'm getting stuck, I try to write through-it. By which I mean, just write whatever comes to me. It may not be something that makes the final draft, sometimes it's just me telling myself what I want to happen, even though I can't seem to get the right words down. I've then got something I can go back to and work on.

What motivates you to keep writing?
My personal enjoyment of creating another world. Putting all the things going on in my mind onto paper and making some sort of sense out of it. Mostly, though, knowing that readers really enjoy sharing these stories with me.

Where is your favourite place to write?
Thanks to my lovely husband, I now have an office to write in.


Do your characters moods ever affect your mood and vice versa?
Not always, but last year when I was particularly worried about my father, when I was writing a scene between a father and daughter, it did make me quite emotional. I think because my feelings were very close to the surface, they spilled over into my writing. Another time, I was writing a character who swore quite a lot and then realised I was doing it myself - I had to keep apologising to my husband and explain that the character was having a bad influence on me!

What three pieces of advice would you give to an aspiring writer?
Always be professional, ie. polite, courteous and reliable.
Accept advice and constructive criticism with grace.
Celebrate all your achievements, no matter how small.

Which authors inspire you?
Nora Roberts for her output.

What are you reading at the moment?
Coffin Road by Peter May. I've only just started it and not read any of his before - so far I'm enjoying it.
I'm also listening to Hunted by Paul Finch on Audible. Again, another new author to me.


If your book was made into a film what song would you choose for the opening credits?
Teenage Kicks by The Undertones. I reference this in the parts of the book where the teenage years of my characters appear.

Who would you choose to play your favourite character in the film of your book?
Oh, that's tricky. I think it would have to be Charlie Hunnam's Son's of Anarchy character Jax Teller as Kerry Wright.

What is your next book about?
My next book The Cuckoo is due out in the new year and is about two sisters who are reunited after the breakdown of the family unit 20 years earlier. Things however don't run smoothly and soon events take a sinister turn.

And now think about the books you've read and just give the first one that comes into your head for our quickfire 'Which book round.'

Which book has made you:

Laugh out loud?
Getting Over Mr Right - Chrissie Manby

Cry your heart out?
What Doesn't Kill You - Laura E. James

Want to read it again?
Omerta - Mario Puzo

Think more?
Gray Justice - Alan McDermott

Wish it would be made into a film?
Anything, by which I mean any book, by Chris Kuzneski

Shocked?
Wayward Angel - George Wethern

Scared?
The Fog - James Herbert

Thank you so much for joining us on our blog today and good luck with the book.
Thank you! It's been great answering the questions. x

Sincerely
Book Angels x

About the Author

Published by Harper Collins' imprint Harper Impulse, Sue Fortin writes gripping dramas.

Sue is an Amazon best selling author, The Girl Who Lied, reaching #1 in the UK in 2016. Her novel, Closing In, became a best seller in 2014 reaching #1 in the Kobo Romantic Suspense chart. Her originally self-published debut novel, United States of Love, was awarded the INDIE Brag Medallion and later when published by HarperImpulse was short-listed for the Joan Hessayon Award (2014). Sue was also short-listed for the Festival of Romance, New Talent Award (2013). Sue blogs regularly with the on-line writing group The Romaniacs (www.theromaniacs.co.uk).

Lover of cake, Dragonflies and France. Hater of calories, maths and snakes. Sue was born in Hertfordshire but had a nomadic childhood, moving often with her family, before eventually settling in West Sussex.

Sue is married with four children, all of whom patiently give her time to write but, when not behind the keyboard, she likes to spend her time with them, enjoying both the coast and the South Downs, between which they are nestled.

You can find out more about Sue at
Website www.suefortin.com
Twitter : suefortin1
Facebook : Sue Fortin Author

No comments:

Post a Comment