Follow by Email

Wednesday, 6 April 2016

These Days of Ours by Juliet Ashton

A novel about love. Raw important love. Small, beautiful love. And what happens when the person you love cannot be yours… Perfect for fans of Rowan Coleman, Jane Green and David Nicholls.

Kate and Becca are cousins and best friends. They have grown up together and shared all the most important milestones in their lives: childhood birthday parties, eighteenth birthdays, and now a wedding day as they each marry their childhood sweethearts, Charlie and Julian.

Kate has always loved Charlie - they were meant to be. Then she discovers that life never turns out quite how you expect it to. And love doesn't always follow the journey it should.

But best friends are forever, and true love will find a way, won't it…?

Title:      These Days of Ours
Author:  Juliet Ashton
Published By: Simon & Schuster
Date:      1st March 2016
Link:      UK: Amazon  US: Amazon

My Review


A poignant love story which will tug at your heart strings until your bottom lip quivers.
The course of true love never runs smooth, especially when it comes to Kate and Charlie.
Their story is told in a light and refreshing way through a series of invitations to family events which are interspersed throughout the book.
Kate's family are certainly not a perfect bunch but they are extremely close knit, loveable characters who love nothing more than a family get together. Her mum is Irish and is part of a hilarious double act with her sister Marjorie as they sneak out for smokes in the garden behind their husbands backs. Kate's dad is quite henpecked and has a dream one day to visit China as he raises money for an orphanage there. Kate is very close to her dad and is determined to make his dream come true. Their relationship was very touching.
Her cousin Becca is the more confident and selfish of the two girls and has Kate and everyone else wrapped around her little finger. She plays with people as though they are her personal chess pieces but she soon pushes things too far and causes chaos for Kate and her first love Charlie.
Kate and Charlie's relationship was doomed after a silly argument but they were eventually able to become friends again as well as in-laws, until Kate discovers some devastating truths that Becca has been hiding from them and which will mean their lives will never be the same again.
Kate has to come to terms with the fact that she has missed out on the love of her life as her and Charlie are never single at the same time.
Becca is an annoying character but she also has a big heart and genuinely does love Kate she just can't help being a nuisance but she does want Kate to be happy and feels she has to interfere to try and make amends.
A lovely story of family, heartbreak, sentimentality, and of true love always finding a way.

Thanks to Books and the City for the review copy which I read in one day.

Sincerely
Book Angels x

About the Author


I'm Juliet Ashton and I live just outside London with my daughter, Niamh, who's 12, and my husband, Matthew, who's considerably older than that. The house hums with creativity, as I scribble downstairs and Matthew composes music for theatre and TV upstairs. We have two dogs, one of whom is wildly energetic, one of whom was born an old lady and prefers to sleep all day.
Hmm, what else? I'm Irish, but you wouldn't know that from my accent. I can't sing. My favourite crisp flavour is Roast Chicken, but I reserve the right to change that at short notice.
I hope you enjoy my books. They are the way I speak to the world.
I'm Juliet Ashton and I live just outside London with my daughter, Niamh, who's 12, and my husband, Matthew, who's considerably older than that. The house hums with creativity, as I scribble downstairs and Matthew composes music for theatre and TV upstairs. We have two dogs, one of whom is wildly energetic, one of whom was born an old lady and prefers to sleep all day.
Hmm, what else? I'm Irish, but you wouldn't know that from my accent. I can't sing. My favourite crisp flavour is Roast Chicken, but I reserve the right to change that at short notice.
I hope you enjoy my books. They are the way I speak to the world.

No comments:

Post a Comment