Follow by Email

Monday, 12 October 2015

My Big Fat Christmas Wedding - Samantha Tonge

Things don’t always run smoothly in the game of love…

Former hot shot city girl Pippa Pattinson loves her new life of rustic simplicity, running a quaint teashop on a sleepy Greek island with her hot fiancé, Niko. But it’s been a quick change to slow living – and you can’t blame a girl for wondering, ‘how did I get here?’
As her Christmas wedding approaches, a trip back to snowy England for her ex’s engagement party makes her wonder if those are wedding bells she’s hearing in her mind, or warning bells. She longs for the excitement of her old London life – the glamour, the regular pedicures. Can she really give that all up to be…a fishwife?
There’s nothing for it but to throw herself into bringing a little Christmas magic to the struggling village in the form of a Christmas fair. Somewhere in amidst the sparkly bauble cakes and stollen scones, she’s hoping she’ll come to the right decision about where she belongs…fingers crossed in time for the wedding…
Perfect for fans of Lindsey Kelk and Debbie Johnson, you won’t want to miss the Christmas Wedding of the year!

My Big Fat Christmas Wedding is the standalone sequel to Game of Scones, perfect for fans of Lindsey Kelk and Debbie Johnson. Don’t miss the Christmas Wedding of the year!

Author: Samantha Tonge
Title: My Big Fat Christmas Wedding
Publishers: Carina
Publication Date: 15th Oct 2015
Link: Uk: Amazon   US: Amazon

My Review

If I had to choose one word to sum up this book it would be 'interesting.' To be honest I was expecting the usual schmaltzy Christmassy cheer which I absolutely love but this was more in depth than that. It was interesting and very topical to see the effect of the Greek economy on the villagers and the devastating impact on them that the sight of refugees turning up in boats and dying to flee their home country had. 

It was a shame to see Pippa and Niko's relationship going through a hard time, However, the fantasy of living in Taxos with her Greek lover seems to be over as Pippa misses her hometown and wonders whether she has made the right decision, to give up her life of luxury in favour of a simple life as a fisherman's wife. I think it was quite realistic to show that she was bound to have doubts about leaving her old lifestyle behind especially when handsome Henrik turns up to tempt her back. Once again it looks like Pippa might have to rethink her choice as to which of these handsome hunks would she be happier with.

I loved seeing how the villagers all came together to help the refugees and for the Christmas Fayre and I was eager to discover whether Pippa's soul searching brought her the answers she needed. I really enjoyed the anticipation leading up to Pippa's new plan and once again the mouth watering descriptions of the scone flavours were lovely.

Although this is a standalone book I was pleased that I knew the whole back story from reading Game of Scones. Which I also loved and have reviewed here.

Thanks to NetGalley and Carina for the advanced review copy.

Sincerely
Book Angel x

About the Author

Samantha Tonge
Samantha lives in Cheshire with her lovely family and a cat that thinks it's a dog. Along with writing, her days are spent cycling, willing cakes to rise and avoiding housework. A love of fiction developed as a child, when she was known for reading Enid Blyton books in the bath. A desire to write bubbled away in the background whilst she pursued other careers, including a fun stint working at Disneyland Paris. Formally trained as a linguist, Samantha now likes nothing more than holing herself up in the spare room, in front of the keyboard. Writing romantic comedy novels is her passion.

Samantha has sold over 80 short stories to mainstream women's magazines. Her debut romantic comedy novel from HarperCollins (CarinaUK), bestselling "Doubting Abbey", was shortlisted for the Festival of Romantic Fiction best Ebook award, 2014. Her most recent novel is romantic Game of Scones, a deliciously summery, fun beach read. Look out for her festive 2015 novel, My Big Fat Christmas Wedding, up for pre-order now!

1 comment:

  1. Liked this blog!! Glad to know about this big fat Christmas wedding. Last few days were very busy in arranging my sister’s wedding at one of NYC wedding venues. There I did best preparations and arranged awesome wedding favors. All the invitees loved everything.

    ReplyDelete